Print Friendly, PDF & Email

The International Dyslexia Association (IDA) issues certifications recognizing professionals with the knowledge and skills to teach individuals with dyslexia to read. The purpose of these credentials is to appropriately assess a professional’s ability to provide the necessary remediation for individuals with dyslexia and offer information to the public to choose qualified professionals. There are two levels of Tier III dyslexia certification.

Dyslexia Practitioner: A dyslexia practitioner holds a bachelor’s degree or higher and is qualified to teach reading to students with dyslexia. The individual has completed a minimum of 45 hours of coursework aligned with the IDA Knowledge and Practice Standards and has demonstrated student progress in a supervised practicum of a minimum of 25 consecutive weeks. Learn more about the qualifications for Dyslexia Practitioner. 

Dyslexia TherapistA dyslexia therapist holds a master’s degree or higher and is qualified to deliver to students with dyslexia, including the most difficult cases. The individual has completed a minimum of 200 hours of approved coursework aligned with IDA standards and has demonstrated student progress in a practicum of a minimum of 2 school years or 50 weeks of supervised practice. Learn more about qualifications necessary for this certification.

Structured Literacy Teacher:   We are beginning to certify teachers and reading specialists through our partnership with The Center for Effective Reading Instruction (CERI), the 501(c)(6) organization we established to further evidence-based approaches to reading and learning. Click here for more information about the exam including how to apply.

IDA Program Accreditation and Review Team Member:     Please click the link below to view and/or print the PDF application.
IDA Program Accreditation Review Team Application September 2018 


Learn More

If you are currently certified by another program

Interested in becoming a Practicum Supervisor

Share this page with your friends…